Kodo 40th Anniversary Commemorative Work II
Kodo x Tokyo Symphony Orchestra “Inochi”

Kodo x Tokyo Symphony Orchestra “Inochi”

Our second 40th anniversary commemorative work will be our first orchestra collaboration in five years.

The programme will feature two pieces performed by Kodo and Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. One is brand new “Inochi,” meaning life or life force, which Kodo’s Ryotaro Leo Ikenaga composed especially for this concert. The other is “Mono-Prism,” the late Maki Ishii’s opus for taiko and orchestra, based on his composition and our signature piece, “Monochrome.” Combined, they will depict the culmination of Kodo’s four decades of history as the ensemble passes its lifework and way of life on to the next generation.

Join us for a one-off concert featuring Tokyo Symphony Orchestra and Tatsuya Shimono, one of Japan’s leading conductors and long-serving music advisor to the Kodo ensemble.


Ryotaro Leo Ikenaga


Tatsuya Shimono


Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Kodo Taiko Performing Arts Ensemble

Tokyo Symphony Orchestra

About TSO
Tokyo Symphony Orchestra Official Website


Kodo 40th Anniversary Commemorative Work II—Kodo x Tokyo Symphony Orchestra “Inochi”

Oct 30 (Sat), 2021 Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall, Kawasaki, Kanagawa



Ticket Prices:


Venue Address:
1310 Omiya-cho, Saiwai Ward, Kawasaki, Kanagawa 〒212-0014
Venue Access:

3-min. walk from JR Kawasaki Stn. or 8-min. walk from Keikyu Kawasaki Stn.

Venue Website:



Kodo Tel. 0259-86-3630


English assistance by telephone is subject to availability. If you require extra help, please contact the Kodo Office.

Supported by:

The Agency of Cultural Affairs, Goverment of Japan through the Japan Arts Council
The Kao Foundation for Arts and Sciences