“Kodo One Earth Tour 2022: Cycles” Japan Tour

Performance Details Schedule All Events

Uncover the scintillating sounds
of the universe

In recent years, Yuichiro Funabashi has held the creative reins at Kodo, directing the main touring productions, while Yuta Sumiyoshi has composed many of the new pieces at the heart of those works. In 2022, they have teamed up to produce Cycles, an ambitious, innovative work featuring all new compositions.

Cycles explores the ever-changing rhythms of the natural world. The rising and setting of the sun. The rise and fall of the tides. The waxing and waning of the moon.

In this work, Kodo will endeavor to capture the feeling of extensive natural cycles with taiko music, unearthing the rhythms within the various phases along the way. We look forward to premiering Cycles in major cities throughout Japan later this year.

●Artistic Director: Yuichiro Funabashi

●Music Director: Yuta Sumiyoshi

●Cast: Kenta Nakagome, Yuta Sumiyoshi, Ryotaro Leo Ikenaga, Reo Kitabayashi, Mizuki Yoneyama, Issei Kohira, Masayasu Maeda, Seita Saegusa, Chihiro Watanabe, Taiyo Onoda, Sho Nakatani, Jumpei Nonaka, Hana Ogawa (Junior Member)

Photos: Takashi Okamoto, Katsumi Omori
Art Director: Hiroomi Hattori (COM Works)

※Please Note: Kodo’s annual December performance series at Bunkyo Civic Hall will not take place in 2022 because the venue will be undergoing renovations at that time.